Milestone

I finally went to San Francisco Chinatown and got consecrated statues of two deities, along with a copy of a scripture (in Chinese) for one of the gods, and some instruction in their worship. I learned a lot just from going to Chinatown again and visiting some of the temples there, and I feel like more change-precipitating experiences are bound to follow soon.

A lot of the practices and assumptions I cobbled together from random things I read are going out the window. The various academic studies of aspects of Chinese religion are still interesting to me, but since they’re all technically secondary sources anyways, it’s fitting that they’re becoming more secondary in my life as well.

3 responses to “Milestone

Leave a Reply

