TWH: Tupac Amaru Shakur

tupac-with-gun

My latest article for The Wild Hunt is up. It’s about Tupac Shakur, ancestor work and the theory of multiple souls (or soul-parts).

One response to “TWH: Tupac Amaru Shakur

  • aediculaantinoi

    Very interesting, for a hundred reasons…even apart from the inherent interest of a great deal of what you discussed!

    I was looking at the descendants of Tantalos earlier today…and, I was totally unaware of the Inca connection of Tupac’s name, which interests me due to some Inca and other Peruvian connections within my own practice that I’ve started to discover…

    I also have to say that the universality of Tupac is very interesting, and had an amusing manifestation in my own life. The last place I lived in Ireland, in Cork during the majority of 2005, was a housing development that had been built within part of the old barracks/fort from 19th c. Cork that was refurbished in the late 19th/early 20th centuries, which was near an area called “Jew-Town,” i.e. the place where the majority of the tiny Jewish community in the city lived during the late 19th/early 20th centuries. Thus, I joked (though not entirely) that I was living “in the ghetto” in reference to being of Jewish ancestry and living in Jew-Town. Everyone living around me was Irish (and probably Catholic) and white, though. However, after a few months living in that neighborhood, someone spray-painted “R.I.P. 2PAC” on one of the walls just outside of my house. I found this odd, but also rather funny for a variety of reasons…in a different sort of ghetto, thousands of miles away, white Irish kids were still honoring his memory in 2005.

    This also makes me wonder about certain other eschatological matters…but perhaps I’ll say more on those another time.

Leave a Reply

