TWH: Animism and the Eternal Recurrence of Myth

antifa wolf

Source: God-bird.com

My latest essay at The Wild Hunt is up. Among other topics, I write about Hermes slaying Argos and ARGUS, wolves devouring Milo of Croton and Milo Yiannopoulos, and both Sigurd and Melampous in relation to animism and pipeline resistance.

6 responses to “TWH: Animism and the Eternal Recurrence of Myth

  • aediculaantinoi

    Very interesting! I’m not sure what the response to your article will be in certain sectors, but there is something mythic in several of the recent instances you mentioned (amongst others), and I’m sure more mythic elements will emerge in the events that are to come about soon…

  • aediculaantinoi

    On a different note: have you read Pseudo-Apollodorus’ brief account of the death of Argos by Hermes? The latter does it with a sling rather than a sword…which is quite interesting, because it then allows Hermes to be compared with Lug in Cath Maige Tuired and His slaying of Balor with a sling, which many Celticists tried to say comes from the biblical myth of David and Goliath.

    • Heathen Chinese

      It is interesting you mention that, i specifically emphasized that i was retelling Ovid’s version because i had the version with the sling in mind as well, which i have also read about in comparison with Lug and Balor.

      • aediculaantinoi

        Where did you read about that? Celticists that I know (who are the pretty “major ones”!) had never thought of it before/heard of that incident, so I’m wondering what field they are in or where their discussions are published…

      • Heathen Chinese

        Now that you ask about it and I’m looking for the source, I’m not sure if I actually read it or if the association came to me from somewhere else. Maybe it was a mix of reading Kondratiev’s “Lugus: The Many-Gifted Lord” many years ago (since it argues for Lugus as Gaulish Mercury, and then proceeds to make the comparison to Lug and Balor, and discusses the significance of the sling vs. the spear), and then later reading the various versions of the slaying of Argos. And the spirits, of course.

        Have you ever made that comparison in writing?

      • aediculaantinoi

        Yes, in one published article, which was the first (so it seemed) that many Celticists I know personally had heard of/seen it. Shoot me an e-mail later and I can send you a PDF of it!

        I have not read a lot of Kondratiev, given that I don’t agree with a good deal of what he has said/written; he was a good fellow, from all accounts, and certainly did some good research and had some good ideas, but I’m not sure all of them hold up under further scrutiny. (I can’t give you any examples off the top of my head at present, but anyway…)

Leave a Reply

